The temple architecture of Odisha corresponds to altogether a different category for their unique representations called Kalinga style of temple Architecture.


In Kalinga style – the temple is made up of two structures: a tower and hall. The Tower is called Deula., and the hall is called as Jagmohan.

For kalingan architecture, there are three different types of styles for temples that comprise the whole area of a building or structure.

  1. Rekha Deula: Rekha Deula is a tall building with a sikhara. The most distinct example of Rekha Deula is the Lingraj Temple of Bhubneshwar.The Rekha Deula means a shrine with different parts in a line. The Lingraj Temple has a vimana (structure containing the sanctum), jagamohana (assembly hall), natamandira (festival hall) and bhoga-mandapa (hall of offerings), each increasing in the height to its predecessor.
  2. Pidha Deula:  Pidha Deula refers to the square building with a pyramid-shaped roof, like the vimanas. The assembly hall of the Konark Sun Temple is an example.
  3. Khakhara Deula:  The Khakhara Deula is altogether a different style of architecture closely appearing similar to the Dravidian Gopuran design. The word is derived from Khakharu (Pumpkin, gourd). The temples of the feminine deities as Shakti are temple of that type. . One example is the Baitala Deula of Bhubneshwar, dedicated to Chamunda. The Sakta temples are generally of Khakhara order. Brahmi temple of Chaurasi in Puri and Gouri temple of Bhubaneswar are two other glaring examples of Khakhara temple.