Siva Dwadasa Nama Smaranam
(remembering the twelve names of Lord Shiva)

Translated by

(This rare collection of 12 names of Lord Shiva, was sent to me by a reader of . He has taken it from a manuscript written in Telugu. My thanks to him.)

Prathamastu Mahadevo
DwitEyastu Mahesvaraha
Truteeyaha Sankaro gneya
Chaturtho Vrushabhadhwajaha
Panchamaha KruththiVaasaascha
Shashtaha Kamaanga nasanaha 
Saptamo Deva Devasaha
Srikanasch ashtama smruthaha
Eswaro navamo gneyo
Dasamaha ParvatI patihi
Rudra Ekadasaschaiva
Dwadasaha Siva Uchyathe

First the great Lord,
Second the greatest among gods,
Third the well known Shankara
Fourth, the one who has bull in his flag,
Fifth, the one who wears animal hide
Sixth, the one who killed the God of love
Seventh, the God of devas,
Eighth the one with poison neck
Ninth the one who is known as Easwara,
Tenth the consort of Parvathi,
Eleventh, the fearsome Rudra,
And twelfth Lord Shiva

dwadasaithani naamaani trisandhyam yah pathennaraha
Kruthghnaschaiva Goghnascha
bramhaga Guruthalpagaha
StrI bala ghatakaschiava
Suraapo VrushaLi patihi
Muchyate Sarva Papebhyo
Rudra Lokam Sa gaChathi.

The man who reads these twelve names during dawn, noon and dusk,
Even if ungrateful or having killed a cow,
Even if he has killed Brahmins or teacher,
Or it is a lady, child or an achiever,
The lord of devas, The lord of the bull,
Would get rid of all his sins,
And at the end reach the land of Shiva,

See also  Jabali Upanishad

Browse Temples in India

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *